Jeff Lunden http://kanw.com en New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://kanw.com/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 45029 at http://kanw.com New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://kanw.com/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 42975 at http://kanw.com Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://kanw.com/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 38897 at http://kanw.com 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://kanw.com/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 37684 at http://kanw.com Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://kanw.com/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 37054 at http://kanw.com New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://kanw.com/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 33940 at http://kanw.com Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars http://kanw.com/post/american-masterpiece-and-menagerie-stars Pop-culture aficionadoes will know Zachary Quinto as Spock in the cinematic reboot of <em>Star Trek</em>, and Cherry Jones as President Taylor from television's <em>24</em>.<p>But both are accomplished stage actors as well. And tonight, they're opening on Broadway, in a revival of Tennessee Williams' classic play <em>The Glass Menagerie</em>.<p>When the audience enters the Booth Theater, they see a simple, but striking vision. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:40:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 33728 at http://kanw.com An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park http://kanw.com/post/loves-labours-tuned-and-playing-park A few years ago, after songwriter Michael Friedman and writer-director Alex Timbers had finished working on their cheeky historical musical <em>Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson</em>, they decided to look for a new project to work on. Friedman says they wanted the next show to have a completely different feel.<p>"So we started looking at Shakespeare," Friedman says. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 30942 at http://kanw.com 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park 'Pippin' Revival Is A Circus Of A Show http://kanw.com/post/pippin-revival-circus-show When <em>Pippin</em> opened in 1972, it was a sensation. Directed and choreographed by Bob Fosse, who was coming off his Academy Award-winning film version of <em>Cabaret</em>, it was a showbiz triumph of jazz hands, sexy dancing and theatrical magic.<p>It was also the Broadway debut of 24-year-old songwriter Stephen Schwartz, who's better known these days for the global megahit <em>Wicked</em>. He had written a version of <em>Pippin — </em>about the son of medieval emperor Charlemagne — as a college musical. Thu, 25 Apr 2013 07:23:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 27023 at http://kanw.com 'Pippin' Revival Is A Circus Of A Show 'Matilda' Brings Beloved Book To Broadway http://kanw.com/post/matilda-brings-beloved-book-broadway <em>Matilda</em> is a well-loved book by Roald Dahl, who's been called the greatest children's storyteller of the 20th century. It's about a much-put-upon little girl with tremendous gifts. Thu, 11 Apr 2013 18:32:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 26486 at http://kanw.com 'Matilda' Brings Beloved Book To Broadway Nora Ephron's 'Lucky Guy' And Tom Hanks Make Their Broadway Debuts http://kanw.com/post/tom-hanks-and-nora-ephrons-lucky-guy-make-their-broadway-debuts Several years ago, when Nora Ephron handed Tom Hanks an early draft of <em>Lucky Guy</em>, her play about tabloid journalist Mike McAlary, he had a pretty strong reaction.<p>"I said, 'Well, that guy's sure a jerk!' I used another word besides jerk — I know what you can say on NPR," he says. "And she laughed and she said, 'Well, he kinda was. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 21:25:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 26089 at http://kanw.com Nora Ephron's 'Lucky Guy' And Tom Hanks Make Their Broadway Debuts For This Pair Of Clowns, 'Old Hats' Means New Laughs http://kanw.com/post/pair-clowns-old-hats-mean-new-laughs Twenty years ago, theatrical clowns Bill Irwin and David Shiner collaborated on a Broadway show called <em>Fool Moon</em> — a giddy mixture of slapstick, improv and audience participation that proved such a success that it came back to Broadway for two more runs and toured both the U.S. and Europe. Tue, 05 Mar 2013 23:07:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 25005 at http://kanw.com For This Pair Of Clowns, 'Old Hats' Means New Laughs Grand Central, A Cathedral For Commuters, Celebrates 100 http://kanw.com/post/grand-central-cathedral-commuters-celebrates-100 Friday marks the day that 100 years ago, Grand Central Terminal opened its doors for business for the very first time. The largest railroad terminal in the world, the magnificent Beaux-Arts building is in the heart of New York City on 42nd St. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 08:40:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 23664 at http://kanw.com A Vet's Haunted Homecoming In 'Water By The Spoonful' http://kanw.com/post/vets-haunted-homecoming-water-spoonful The cliche about writers is they should write what they know, and that old saw has certainly worked for Quiara Alegria Hudes. The 35-year-old playwright has mined her Puerto Rican family's stories into a series of plays, a musical and even a children's book. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 08:47:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 22746 at http://kanw.com A Vet's Haunted Homecoming In 'Water By The Spoonful' The Peony Pavilion: A Vivid Dream In A Garden http://kanw.com/post/peony-pavilion-vivid-dream-garden <em>The Peony Pavilion</em> is one of China's most famous operas, but uncut performances of this romantic 16th century work can take more than 22 hours. Chinese composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15167564/tan-dun" target="_blank">Tan Dun</a>, who's best known for his Academy Award-winning score for the film <em>Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon</em>, has adapted the work into a compact 75 minutes. Fri, 30 Nov 2012 09:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 21408 at http://kanw.com The Peony Pavilion: A Vivid Dream In A Garden Philadelphia Orchestra Reboots With New Music Director http://kanw.com/post/philadelphia-orchestra-reboots-new-music-director Everywhere you look right now, it seems like American symphony orchestras are fighting for their lives — strikes, lockouts, bankruptcy. Perhaps the biggest example is the world-renowned <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16021984/philadelphia-orchestra" target="_blank">Philadelphia Orchestra</a>, which is just coming out of its own bankruptcy. Tonight, its new 37-year-old music director takes the podium as the venerable orchestra begins a reboot.<p>The Philadelphia Orchestra has been one of the world's greatest orchestras since it was founded in 1900. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 06:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 19771 at http://kanw.com Philadelphia Orchestra Reboots With New Music Director During Lockout Season, Orchestra Musicians Grapple With Their Future http://kanw.com/post/during-lockout-season-orchestra-musicians-grapple-their-future It's been a tumultuous time for American orchestras. Labor disputes have shut down the Minnesota Orchestra and Indianapolis Symphony, and strikes and lockouts have affected orchestras in Chicago, Atlanta and Louisville in the past year.<p>Whether Mozart is on the bill or Mahler, it's an expensive proposition to present a symphony orchestra. To do the music justice, you need between 80 and 100 musicians to play it, and their salaries and health care benefits make up most of an orchestra's budget. Wed, 10 Oct 2012 20:06:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 19471 at http://kanw.com During Lockout Season, Orchestra Musicians Grapple With Their Future Shorts Inspire Music In 'Sounding Beckett' Trilogy http://kanw.com/post/shorts-inspire-music-sounding-beckett-trilogy It all began last year, when the Library of Congress presented Samuel Beckett's <em>Ohio Impromptu</em> alongside a piece of music by composer Dina Koston, which responded to the text. A New York group, the Cygnus Ensemble, played the music, while Washington, D.C., director Joy Zinoman staged the play, for one night only.<p>"And when it was over, Bill Anderson, the head of the Cygnus Ensemble, said to me, 'Might you be interested in taking this to New York?' " Zinoman recalls. "And I said, 'An 11-minute play in New York? Tue, 18 Sep 2012 19:33:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 18584 at http://kanw.com Shorts Inspire Music In 'Sounding Beckett' Trilogy 'Oklahoma!' Actress Celeste Holm Dies At 95 http://kanw.com/post/oklahoma-actress-celeste-holm-dies-95 Academy Award-winning actress Celeste Holm has died. A star on both stage and screen, Holm was best known for roles in <em>Gentleman's Agreement</em>, <em>All About Eve</em> and <em>Oklahoma!</em> She was 95.<p>Holm died early Sunday morning in her Manhattan apartment with her husband, family and close friends by her side. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 17:47:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 15671 at http://kanw.com London Smash 'Two Guvnors' Comes To Broadway http://kanw.com/post/london-smash-two-guvnors-comes-broadway If you weren't a college theater major, you can be forgiven for not knowing much about commedia dell'arte, the 500-year-old theatrical tradition that Carlo Goldoni used for his comedy <em>The Servant of Two Masters</em> in 1743. Contemporary playwright Richard Bean has adapted that play into the decidedly British laugh riot <em>One Man, Two Guvnors --</em> and he says all you really need to know about commedia is ... well, it's funny.<p>"Commedia dell'arte," Bean says, "is very physical comedy, and there's a lot of clowning in it. ... You won't find much irony in this play. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 20:12:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 11850 at http://kanw.com London Smash 'Two Guvnors' Comes To Broadway