Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith http://kanw.com en 'Honor Flights' Race To Bring WWII Vets To D.C. Memorial http://kanw.com/post/honor-flights-race-bring-wwii-vets-dc-memorial More than 16 million American's fought in World War II. There's only about a million of them who are still alive and they're all older than 80. Hundreds are dying each day. A non-profit group has made it their mission to honor these remaining veterans by flying them to Washington, D.C., to visit the World War II memorial. The trip isn't something many veterans at this age can do — or afford — on their own. Since the first "Honor Flight" in 2005, groups in almost every state have followed suit and more than 100,000 vets have taken the journey. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:51:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 35634 at http://kanw.com This Isn't Your Granny Smith's Harvesting Technology http://kanw.com/post/isnt-your-granny-smiths-harvesting-technology In West Michigan, it's apple harvest time. Mon, 14 Oct 2013 18:36:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 34452 at http://kanw.com This Isn't Your Granny Smith's Harvesting Technology Certain Ford Retirees Face Major Pension Decision http://kanw.com/post/certain-ford-retirees-face-major-pension-decision Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And now to big money that's tied up in a company's pension fund. Tens of thousands of white-collar Ford retirees will soon have a big decision to make: Should they stay in the auto company's pension plan, or take their chances with a lump sum payout instead? The offer is believed to be the first of its kind for such a large, ongoing pension fund.<p>Michigan Radio's Lindsey Smith reports.<p>LINDSEY SMITH, BYLINE: In Michigan, there are more than 30 clubs for Ford retirees. Charles White runs two of them. Wed, 16 May 2012 08:52:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 13053 at http://kanw.com A Return To 'Safety First' For Michigan Nuclear Plant http://kanw.com/post/return-safety-first-michigan-nuclear-plant The Palisades nuclear power plant in Michigan had five unplanned shutdowns last year. It's one of the area's biggest employers, and its safety record is one of the worst in the country. Sun, 22 Apr 2012 19:50:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 11992 at http://kanw.com A Return To 'Safety First' For Michigan Nuclear Plant Michigan Furniture Maker Celebrates 100 Years http://kanw.com/post/mich-furniture-maker-celebrates-100-years-business Transcript <p>DAVID GREEENE, HOST: <p>Steelcase, the world's largest office furniture maker, is celebrating 100 years in business. But sales of the metal filing cabinets Steelcase is named for are declining - same with cubicles and other large pieces of office furniture.<p>LINDSEY SMITH, BYLINE: So, as Michigan Radio's Lindsey Smith reports, Steelcase says it's changing its identity.<p>Hundreds of multi-colored balloons float down the middle of Steelcase's four-story headquarters in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Mon, 26 Mar 2012 08:00:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 10779 at http://kanw.com Unlikely Advocates Fight For Gay Rights In Mich. City http://kanw.com/post/unlikely-advocates-fight-gay-rights-mich-city Last June, the city council in Holland, Mich., voted against adding sexual orientation and gender identity to its local anti-discrimination laws. Now an unlikely coalition is pressuring the city council to change that vote.<p>On Wednesday nights, Pastor Bill Freeman turns the podium of the city council meeting into a pulpit. Sat, 05 Nov 2011 20:28:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 4436 at http://kanw.com Unlikely Advocates Fight For Gay Rights In Mich. City Mich. Manufacture Expects To Hire 1,000 Workers http://kanw.com/post/mich-manufacture-expects-hire-1000-workers Manufacturers are still cautious when it comes to hiring. But one Michigan company is going on a hiring spree. Gentex Corporation mostly makes car mirrors. Michigan Radio's Lindsey Smith reports that business is booming. Mon, 22 Aug 2011 08:00:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Lindsey Smith 1226 at http://kanw.com