Rick Pluta http://kanw.com en Same-Sex Parenting Goes On Trial In Detroit http://kanw.com/post/same-sex-parenting-goes-trial-detroit Michigan's ban on same-sex marriage goes on trial today in Detroit, and Michigan Public Radio's Rick Pluta is there. A lesbian couple wants to settle the doubts over same-sex parenting. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 39863 at http://kanw.com Michigan Works To Match Dropouts With Degrees Already Earned http://kanw.com/post/michigan-works-match-dropouts-degrees-already-earned There's a nationwide search underway to find former students who don't know they've already done all or most of the work needed to earn a credential that might help them land a better-paying job.<p>In Michigan, several hundred community college dropouts were recently surprised to learn they had enough credits to qualify for an associate degree. Wed, 06 Nov 2013 21:46:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 35447 at http://kanw.com Michigan Works To Match Dropouts With Degrees Already Earned Challenge To Michigan's Gay Marriage Ban Grows From Adoption Case http://kanw.com/post/challenge-michigans-gay-marriage-ban-grows-adoption-case A federal judge in Michigan could rule as soon as Thursday on a challenge to the state's ban on same-sex marriage and civil unions. The challenge comes as the U.S. Supreme Court is set to hear two cases dealing with gay marriage later this month.<p>In the Michigan case, a lesbian couple sued not because they want to be married, but because they want to be parents.<p>Jayne Rowse and April DeBoer have been together 13 years. For all practical purposes, they consider themselves married to each other. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 08:04:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 25074 at http://kanw.com Challenge To Michigan's Gay Marriage Ban Grows From Adoption Case Michigan Likely To Become A Right-To-Work State http://kanw.com/post/michigan-likely-become-right-work-state Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>When we think of industry in Michigan, the auto companies certainly come to mind. And with that so do the unions. And yet, Michigan could soon have a law on the books that critics see as an attack on labor. Michigan is on path to become the next so-called right to work state. The legislature there started voting on measures yesterday, just hours after the state's Republican governor endorsed the idea. Demonstrations erupted at the state capitol in Lansing and protestors remained there for much of the day. Fri, 07 Dec 2012 09:55:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 21667 at http://kanw.com GOP Michigan Congressman To Run Write-In Campaign http://kanw.com/post/gop-michigan-congressman-run-write-campaign Rep. Thaddeus McCotter, R-Mich., is facing the daunting prospect of running a write-in campaign to get re-elected this year, as his campaign fell far short of the number of petition signatures he needs to qualify for the August primary ballot.<p>Compounding McCotter's troubles: It appears election fraud may have played a part in the failure.<p><p>The Michigan attorney general's office launched an investigation into the ballot scandal that threatens to bring an end to McCotter's decade-long career in Congress. Wed, 30 May 2012 07:18:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 13634 at http://kanw.com GOP Michigan Congressman To Run Write-In Campaign Santorum Upset By Michigan Delegate Decision http://kanw.com/post/santorum-upset-michigan-delegate-decision Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And in Michigan, there's a fight going on over one delegate to the Republican National Convention. Rick Santorum's campaign team says its candidate is a victim of, quote, thuggery. Fri, 02 Mar 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 9715 at http://kanw.com Fred Who? He's Republican, He's Gay, And He's Competing For Michigan Delegates http://kanw.com/post/fred-who-hes-republican-hes-gay-and-hes-competing-michigan-delegates <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7653g25x4C4</p> Fri, 24 Feb 2012 21:36:00 +0000 Rick Pluta 9415 at http://kanw.com Fred Who? He's Republican, He's Gay, And He's Competing For Michigan Delegates